Skip to main content
EWU Police Department
820 Washington
Cheney, WA 99004
phone: 509.359.4021
fax: 509.359.6054

University Police

The Eastern Washington University Police Department employs fourteen full time and two part time police officers, who are fully commissioned by the State of Washington.  Our staff consists of the Chief of Police, one Deputy Chief, two Sergeants, two Corporals, one Detective, seven Patrol Officers, and one Administrative Assistant.

Some of the specialized assignments in our department are:

  •  Bike Patrol Unit - Made up of multiple officers who patrol the campus on bicycles.
  • Investigations Unit - Consists of a supervising detective and multiple skilled officers who strive to investigate criminal acts on campus and bring the cases to a positive resolution for the victims.
  • Field Training Officers (FTO) / Training Unit - FTO's are Officers who are certified by the state to train new police officers.  The Training Unit works to further the knowledge and training of current officers within our department and other police agencies.


© 2017 Eastern Washington University
EWU expands opportunities for personal transformation through excellence in learning.